Honoraria Committee

Committee Members: L. Dizney, D. J. Hafner, V. Hayssen (Chair), M. C. Kalcounis-Ruppell, D. Kaufman, J. Light, M. Matocq, J. Merritt, K. Nutt, T. Roberts, R. Rowe, P. Stapp, S. Vignieri, G. Wilson.

Mission:

The committee's mission is to select students to be honored for their research in Mammalogy.

Information Items:

- (1) The Honoraria Committee awarded 3 graduate honoraria, each for \$1500, to Katherine K. Thorington, Wake Forest University, the Anna M. Jackson Award; Hayley C. Lanier, University of Alaska Museum, the Elmer C. Birney Award; and Gerald Gunnawa Carter, Cornell University, the A. Brazier Howell Graduate Student Travel Grant
- (2) The Committee awarded 2 undergraduate honoraria of \$800 each to Gabriela González Olimón, Autonomous University of Baja California and Katelyn Schumacher, Central Michigan University.

Action Items:

(1) 2009 Budget Request

\$4500 3 * 1500\$ for graduate travel awards (AM Jackson, B Howell, E Birney)
\$2400 3 * 800\$ for undergraduate travel awards
\$6900 Total budget

Justification: All funds requested are for the awards themselves.

Respectfully submitted,

Virginia Hayssen (Vhayssen@email.smith.edu)